When Death Passed Over Me

(I post this entry tonight, in honor of the Jewish Passover)

I was awoken from a deep sleep,
In the middle of the night.

My heart pumped and pounded faster and harder than it ever had before,
And I began to sweat.
My chest and one whole side of me, especially my arm were in intense pain,
My lungs tried to pull in air as I gasped,
But only a small amount of air went in.
I was unable to move; the pain was simply too great.
Then fear and panic tried to convince me that I was going to die.

I opened my eyes
And could just make out
An enormous dark, heavy shadow spirit
Sitting upon my chest.

“What are you gonna do, Dooonameees?” It sneered at me.
“You have no one who can help you now…”

Normally I’d simply reach out to my husband lying beside me,
And ask him to pray for me and bless me with the anointing olive oil,
But alas, my husband was away on a week long business trip,
And I couldn’t even move to get to the phone to call him.

If my husband wasn’t available, I’d go to one of my nearby children,
who’s closest bedroom was down the hall from ours,
And ask them to do the same for me.
But once again, I simply could not move.
I couldn’t even pull in enough air into my lungs
to cry out loud enough to be heard by someone else in the house!

The massive black demon above me seemed to know this.
“So where ya gonna go to now?” it laughed.

Just then,
A vision/portal began to open up in front of me,
And I could just make out the face of this woman named Donna.
She had been a lead singer that I had admired in one of the local Sunday morning worship services that I had gone to for a few times a while back. 
This woman could get up in front of the small church group,
and belt out those worship songs so strong, firm, and clear,
uncaring of any imperfection that may have crossed into her voice.

She was singing something now.
And with great joy, I realized that I knew the song!

So I began to sing it with what little breath I had left:

“I go to the rock of my salvation
I go to the stone that the builders rejected
I go to the mountain and the mountain stands by me
when all around me’s sinking sand
on Christ that solid rock I stand
when I need a shelter when I need a friend I go to my Rock.”

The panic had gone, and my heart no longer raced as fast as before.
But the pain remained.
Indeed, it had become stronger,
And I wondered why it was.

“You haven’t cast it out yet,” said the Voice within,
So I pulled in another breath,
And whispered out the next song:

“I command you satan, in the name of the Lord,
Take up your weapons and flee!
For the Lord has given us authority
To walk all over thee!
What a mighty God we serve! What a mighty God we serve!
Angels bow before Him, heaven and earth adore Him,
What a mighty God we serve!”

At first, the pain became even more stronger,
But after the third time singing this hymn,
The pain, along with the demon, began to fade.
By the fourth round, I knew the danger had passed.

I managed then, to pull up a few more hymns that I knew by heart,
Along with a few snatches of those that I struggled to recall,
And sang them out loud over and over again with vibrato,
Right there in my bedroom,
for my heart was overflowing with His Joy!

THANK YOU DEAREST JESUS CHRIST OF NAZARETH!!!

*

“I will love thee, O LORD, my strength. The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower. I will call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies.

The sorrows of hell compassed me about: the snares of death prevented me. In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried unto my God: he heard my voice out of his temple, and my cry came before him, even into his ears.

He delivered me from my strong enemy, and from them which hated me: for they were too strong for me. They prevented me in the day of my calamity: but the LORD was my stay.

As for God, his way is perfect: the word of the LORD is tried: he is a buckler to all those that trust in him. For who is God save the LORD? or who is a rock save our God?

The LORD liveth; and blessed be my rock; and let the God of my salvation be exalted.(!)
 
(Psalm 18:1-3, 5-6, 17-18, 30-31, 46, KJV)

*  *  *  *

7 comments on “When Death Passed Over Me

  1. This dream reminds me of a guy I met a long time ago back in Iowa. I was at a friends’ place having some fellowship and a friend of their’s stopped by to say hello. He was a Christian and he was divorced. His ex-wife had a Jezebel spirit and he would pray against this Jezebel spirit every night.

    In the beginning, after he was done praying against the Jezebel spirit, he would be attacked in his sleep: he would become paralyzed, couldn’t breath, etc. Well, he wised up. He got this tape recorder of praise and worship music and put it next to his bed. So now, after he is done praying against that Jezebel spirit, he turns on that tape recorder with praise and worship music and he hasn’t been attacked since.

    Praise and worship is excellent warfare against demons. I believe this is why most Pentecostal and Evangelical churches start out their Sunday service with a few songs. The praise and worship songs cause the demons to flee out of the church, so that when the pastor gives his sermon, the Holy Spirit will be able to minister to the people.

  2. Interesting! Do you know if he played the praise and worship music on low, so he could still sleep? I’ve been wondering about doing this myself, after having a dream letting me know that even a recording of scripture or praise music, played in the house while I’m gone, can act like a fumigant to any demonic spirits hanging around.

  3. He didn’t say if he played the music on low. It reminds me of when David would play the lyre, so that the evil spirit would flee from King Saul.

  4. is it a dream, or just awakened from a dream? The reason I ask is because a saved friend of mine had a similar thing happen, not asleep but was drifting off to sleep and then noticed he couldn’t breath or move and something was squeezing his neck and choking him, then noticed a dark ness there, and went to rebuke it in Jesus’ name but couldn’t talk or move but realized he could move his finger, so made the cross sign with his finger and the thing fled away. That’s what he said, and that it wasn’t a dream.

    At the time him and his friend had a growing street witness in LA and were thinking of more to do..so he felt it was the enemy trying to prevent him from speaking the gospel anymore, but didn’t scare them off from it at all. Later as he got older he married and moved etc but the enemy didn’t stop the street ministry, a new calling from God ended their tour there.

    Seems like the more we work in the kingdom the more attacks, it can be seen in the bible and apostles also..but of course why would the enemy attack someone just sitting there when many others on the spiritual battlefield are active and doing damage.

    Anyway no weapon formed against us shall prosper and the gates of hell shall not prevail and all glory to the Lord God Almighty, who was, and is, and is to come!!
    even so come Lord Jesus :))

  5. Good morning. I’m really glad to have come across your site. Two things came to mind here. First is how the enemy consistantly attempts to get our attention away from Jesus and onto our circumstances. In this case, it was a shadowy suffocating figure mockingly asking “what are you going to do?” The second thing is that of what is commonly known as “sleep paralysis.” I’ve never experienced a shadowy figure, but I used to have sleep paralysis…..a lot; primarily as a youth and begore I was saved. It still happens once in a while, however, not it’s once per year or so. I’ve heard different definitions on what it is, however, it’s source is definately demonic.

    On a side note; I just visited your gravitar profile and saw references to some familiar books and sites. I’ll have to make a note to visit the ones that I’m not yet familiar with. The link to Last Trumpet Ministries reminded me of how much I miss David J Meyer. His calling home seemed so untimely, and yet Gods ways are as far above ours as the heavens are above the earth.

    Thanks for the abundance of insight in your posts. Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

    • Dear Timbob,

      I think a few of my kids have experienced ‘sleep paralysis’ once or twice. In this case, I’m uncertain if it could be called that though, for I was already awake when I became unable to move. I have not read up on sleep paralysis. Would it still be called that, cause it happened so soon after awakening?

      I miss David J. Meyer deeply; I considered him my pastor, even though I had never met him. When I go back and listen to some of his mp3 sermons, I find they are just as relevant today, as when he first spoke them. He never skirted away from the hard topics, and he always spoke truth against the evil in the world, regardless for his safety or welfare. (He was never part of the 501c3’s.) I felt less isolated and more in the body of Christ after listening to him speak. He was the one who helped our family to see the connection between satanic sabats and the curses that had been placed on our land. If only there were more pastors out there like him!

      Blessings, and thanks for posting,
      C. Dunamis

Leave a Reply

