The Versatile Blogger Award

 

 

Thank You  to Bird at http://birdmartin.wordpress.com for giving me the Versatile Blogger Award! I am very honored in recieving this award, especially since my blog is just a few months old.

In accepting this award,these are some rules I have to follow:
1. Nominate 15 fellow bloggers who are relatively new to blogging (or whose blogs you enjoy most).
2. Let them know that you nominated them.
3. Share 7 random facts about yourself.
4. Thank the blogger who nominated you.
5. Add the Versatile Blogger Award to your blog post.

So here are 7 random facts about me:

1.  The lord has given me a heart for marriage. By the grace of God alone, me and my husband have been married to each other for over twenty five years. I love to see ‘happily-ever-after’ endings in everyone elses marriage, too.

2. When the Lord first told me I was to home school my children, I broke out laughing and told Him He was crazy. I soon repented of those words and obeyed.  

3. I have been listening (and singing along) to this song for the past week. I awake to it, and I fall asleep to it. For me at this time, it is where I am. So as the song’s lyrics say,  “while in my storm I’ll boldly proclaim…” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KcwgEBnFNdA
(‘It Is Well’, by Mary Mary, from their ‘Something Big’ CD.)

4. My favorite scripture when I was a child, was “Do this in rememberance of Me” Luke 22:19. 
When my husband and I renewed our wedding vows, it was “with God all things are possible.” Matthew 19:26.
Now, it is “Trust in the Lord with all your heart…” Proverbs 3:5.

5. Doctors once told me that I was infertile and could not have any children. Years (and several children) later, doctors also told me I had less than six months to live. Since then, (several years later,) I have switched to ‘The Great Physician’ as being my primary care provider. 

6. I have three favorite T-shirts. One reads ‘Careful, or you’ll end up in my novel.’, another says ‘Prayer – The world’s greatest wireless connection.’, and the third claims ‘I am the wretch the song refers to…’. The next T-shirt on my list to buy, is one that says ‘God can’t do what?!’, with two people doubled over in laughter.  

7. The title of the latest music CD I purchased for myself, was ‘What If We Were Real’, by Mandisa. 

Now for the 15 Bloggers that I enjoy reading:
1. http://crossinthewilderness.blogspot.com/

2.  http://www.wingsofprophecy.blogspot.com/

3.  http://tim-shey.blogspot.com/

4.  http://sharetestimonies.blogspot.com/

5.  http://godsfingers.wordpress.com/

6. http://dontbefooled666.wordpress.com/

7. http://biblicalpersonhood.wordpress.com/

8. http://noreligionjustjesus2011.blogspot.com/

9. http://stopplayingchurch.com/

10. http://lifestream.org/blog/

11. http://loveofthebridegroom.com/

12. http://the-spirit-of-elijah.blogspot.com/

13. http://timbob3.wordpress.com/

14. http://manloosedathome.blogspot.com/

15. http://www.answersintheendtimes.com/

 (Oh yes, I forgot to mention… if you see your blog listed above, YOU have recieved The Versatile Blogger Award! To accept it, do a screen capture of the award button, paste it into your blog post form, and follow the 5 rules listed above…)

Blessings, C. Dunamis

11 comments on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Loved it! But frankly, I’m laughing my butt off hysterically right now at what you changed the “Leave A Comment” feature to…”Cast It Out”….seriously witty, my friend!!

  2. “Doctors once told me that I was infertile and could not have any children. Years (and several children) later, doctors also told me I had less than six months to live. Since then, (several years later,) I have switched to ‘The Great Physician’ as being my primary care provider.”

    Wow, Praise the Lord! That is a powerful testimony!

    Congratulations on your Versatile Blogger Award. I am glad to hear that you are homeschooling your children. You won’t regret it. I have met so many homeschooled kids in my travels; their lives are very edifying.

    • Hi Tim,
      Great timing on your mentioning about homeschooling. I needed to be reminded of that! Today was one of those days where I wondered if I did the right thing by schooling all our children at home. God was quick to remind me that it is still His will for our family. He also reminded me that it’s not just what they do learn, but was also what they DON’T learn, that is so important to Him. Reading your comment was a confirmation of this. Thanks for posting and encouraging me!

  3. Hi Bird,
    All I can say is “oops!” I guess I should have looked at my last post title, before posting this…
    I didn’t purposely want the ‘leave a comment’ button to be removed. I’ll have to check with hubby to see how I can get it back.
    Glad it gave you a chuckle though!

  4. Thank you for the listing. Thank you also for making known the other sites on this list. I plan to begin checking them out when time allows.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.

  5. “Doctors once told me that I was infertile and could not have any children. Years (and several children) later, doctors also told me I had less than six months to live. Since then, (several years later,) I have switched to ‘The Great Physician’ as being my primary care provider.”

    This is a very powerful testimony. I think you should expand on this and write a post on how the Lord blessed you to have children and how the Lord healed you. Jesus Christ is the great physician.

  6. I call homeschooling “The Quiet Revolution”. Just think, Dunamis, you are a revolutionary right after John Milton’s heart (I have a post titled “John Milton: Writer and Revolutionary” on my High Plains Drifter blog).

    I met this family in Idaho and they moved away from California so that they could home school their kids. Maybe it is easier to home school in California now. I was raised in Iowa and at one time Iowa was one of the toughest places to home school kids. I think they passed a law in Iowa back in 1990 and it has made it a lot easier to home school there.

    Keep up the good work.

    • Thanks Tim!
      To legally homeschool in California, one must not refer to it as ‘homeschooling’, but as operating your own private school, which just happens to be in your own home. There are some general rules on what classes/topics must be taught, but for the most part it is more ‘free’ than many other states. Sadly, the public school authorities have tried (on many occasions,) to make it sound like what you’re doing (operating your own private school,) is illegal. So we are among those who retain a group of Christian lawyers who specializes in protecting our rights. This service costs us about $120.00 a year, but it is well worth it.

  7. Dunamis: Around ten or fifteen years ago, I read this article in Newsweek magazine. It was a two or three page article on homeschooling and it was very positive. It said that many colleges and universities aggressively recruit kids who were home schooled–because they are better educated and have more respect for authorities (teachers, parents, administrators).

    I remember I was working for this sheet rock supply company in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. I was helping carrying sheet rock into this Christian book store that was being remodeled. The book store owner told me that the large section of the store being remodeled was for home school books and supplies.

    I told him, “You guys are going to put the public schools out of business.”

    He replied, “That’s the whole idea.”

    I was talking with some friends from Dayton, Washington who home school their kids. The local principle of the Dayton public schools had this bright idea to invite all the home school families to the local high school to see what classes and sports their kids might like to sign up for. Nobody showed up. I thought that was SO funny.

    And I am sure that the teacher’s unions ABSOLUTELY HATE the literate, anti-Marxist brainwash, anti-enviropagan brainwash, Christian home school culture.

    There isn’t much of a choice between fresh water and swamp water. Swamp water will kill you.

  8. there was a man and his daughter “found” in the park in portland OR around 2001ish?..the girl was taught by her father through encyclopedia’s and the bible..was well spoken, behaved and well above her age/education level…all without schools lol. You can goggle search the story and read the details, it’s interesting. Anyway congratulations and keep abiding and looking up! :))

Leave a Reply

