Remembering Who’s Child I Am

A dream…

It is dark outside, and I realize this is another dream. So I look around at the sky and the horizon, searching to see if there are any tornadoes. (There usually is.)

The sky is darkening by the moment, rolling over an around me.

I stand on a hill, alone. Behind me, stands a house, large, with many rooms.

I sense my grandmother near me, catch a glimpse of her favorite pink dress, and then she motions to me, that there was, or could be, shelter within the building, if I wanted it. I thought of it, dreading having to go in and search out the safest hiding place, knowing that at any moment, it could all come crashing in on us.

I pause, and take one more look for any tornadoes.

Then I see them, three of them, off to the right hand of me, behind some other buildings, off into the distance. With ribbing like an elephant’s trunk, swaying back and forth, they came towards me, towards the big house, slowly. As if they had all the time in the world, and knew it.

But I knew I did not.

It would take time to find the best hiding place.

Oh but my heart just dreaded it so. “I am TIRED of these dreams,” I say out loud. “I want to wake up!” I did my best to will it, but could not.

Still the tornado trunks came.

“Run inside and hide, quick!” I heard a voice say to me.

And I went back towards the house and almost went in it to do so.

But at the last moment, I stand up and say “No!”

With my whole body screaming at me (ARE YOU CRAZY?!) I stand and say “NO!” more loudly.

I go back out onto the lawn and the hill, and face the three tornadoes. I shake like a leaf, trembling in their winds, as I stand there, and remember who’s child I am.

“No!,” I shout to the tornadoes as loud as I can, “I will not run and hide any longer! If my God Jesus wants me to be in a tornado, then so be it! I will stand and await his will for me!” I gave a slight pause before finishing. “”I trust in Him.”

All at once, the most center forward of the tornadoes changed its meanderings, its pace, and came forward, going around the other buildings. With a sudden flash, it changed to a ream of bolted lightening, its rays flashing and snapping to and from its form.

Miraculously, (I could not believe how I did so,) I stood my ground.

“Run! Hide! Are you crazy?,” said a voice nearby.

But I held to my ground, trembling as I did so, claiming, “No, I trust my God! I have nothing to fear from Him.”

And suddenly, It is before me, in the shape of a cross. (Why had I not noticed this before?)

I stand there before Him in shock, looking upon all His terrifying glory.

Mouth agape, I starred, until I suddenly realized somehow, that I should not be looking directly at such light, or I would be blinded. I was about to avert my eyes, when the lightening dimmed somewhat, and I found it not so fearful to look upon.

It stood there in silence before me, waiting for me to speak.

“You are my world,” I said to Him, now upon my knees. “I trust You. I will not run from You any longer. Do with me as You Will.”

And suddenly the earth shakes and rolls beneath me, tossing me this way and that. Panic, pure panic, wells up from within me, and I try to grab a hold of something to hold on to.

The house is right behind me, and a part of me debates if I could reach its safety before dying.

But again I stop the thoughts and say “NO! I –will – not – run – and – hide!!!”

“Then let go…,” whispers a voice inside me.

I think “now that IS crazy,” but I give it my thoughts. It was something I had not tried before, and after all, what else did I have to loose?

So I let go.

The moment I did, there was a peace from within me, for I noticed the worst did not befall me, as I had feared. Instead, like a ball being bounced back and forth by a group of children, as it rides the waves of nylon material, (like a parachute with a hole in its center,) I found myself inside a cocoon of some kind, invisible, protecting me from the fury of the storm.

I bounced and rode the earth, like a bucking bronco, until I found myself wishing that I still would wake up from the dream. (It was all getting to be a bit too much for me.) So I ask Jesus to end the dream for me.

And then suddenly,

I was awake.

My relief is great, as I whisper out loud “thank You Jesus. Thank You for waking me from the dream…”
*  *  *  *

“For in him we live, and move, and have our being; as certain also of your own poets have said, For we are also his offspring.”
(Acts 17:28, KJV)

“Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort;

Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God.

For as the sufferings of Christ abound in us, so our consolation also aboundeth by Christ.

And whether we be afflicted, it is for your consolation and salvation, which is effectual in the enduring of the same sufferings which we also suffer: or whether we be comforted, it is for your consolation and salvation.

And our hope of you is stedfast, knowing, that as ye are partakers of the sufferings, so shall ye be also of the consolation.”
(2 Corinthians 1:3-7, KJV)

2 comments on “Remembering Who’s Child I Am

  1. A tornado in a dream means upheaval. Three tornadoes in a dream definitely means something. Three is the number of the Trinity. Since you live in California, maybe there is more upheaval coming to that state–judgment on sin.

    “This is Sodom! This is Sodom!”
    http://tim-shey.blogspot.com/2012/08/this-is-sodom-this-is-sodom.html

    Here is a dream that I had that you may want to read sometime:

    “Dream: Tornado”
    http://hitchhikeamerica.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/dream-tornado/

  2. could take shelter there..if..you’d want/choose. grandma is old style? weaker trust, not as strong end times saint? Having become habituated to a level of comfort and trusting in some level of self provisions? shelter-man made house, arm of our own flesh, our doings etc? partial trust in such things? I catch myself doing that. But instead the choice was no and let go, didn’t turn to the house and enter but let go and trusted. bounced around all over the world safely, judgement upon the world anyway but completely focused on Him and trusting was safe, yet judgement still went about. Didn’t say the house was harmed or those in it, but those who hid didn’t realize/grow in the trust and have the same level of peace and strength?

    I dunno, but after that..why would one who grew so in trust fear anything again! lol

    maybe some related examples, paul and others knew about what would happen and went anyway, trust and faith. yet some said don’t go, and examples of many fleeing persecutions..suppose some were told not to flee but fled anyway? maybe because of that never realized all their full works/rewards etc. Some things we do will not stand the final examining fires and those works will be burned up, other works will remain and receive there reward.

    I had a dream once where these bikers in the desert where chasing me to kill me, couldn’t get away and got cornered on the side of a desert hwy in the dark except for some sort of campfire, they made a circle around me and closed in, just then I jumped in the air and punched thinking I’d hit them all in a circle, but didn’t slow down or come back down instead sped up and spun until so fast my silhouette became a cross, spinning so fast the outline was a cross and lifted into the air and was shining, the bikers saw that and fell down, then got back up and ran as fast as they could, then I slowly lowered back down to the ground and was safe. lol. The part about it changing into a cross reminded me of that dream from way back in the 90’s.

    anyway interesting dream, trust and draw near to Him, look to and focus on Him above, set like flint. May your joy and more be full in Christ!

Leave a Reply

