Because It’s Expected Of Him

A dream…

 I am a young believer, a girl, living out in the country, in a double bungalow duplex, with my older half-sister.
      

 Our parents had just died, and my older half-sister ended up getting control of all their resources. Instead of doing what my parents had wanted her to do, she spent all their money on her, and would neglect to pay the electric or gas bill, and other bills, until they were turned off.

 I soon realized that I’d be better off on my own. So I sheltered in a cardboard box, and gathered up my only possessions left, an old pile of discarded driftwood, that I had worked long and hard collecting from the shores of the nearby lake, and prepared myself to sell them, so I could get something to eat.
       

But suddenly, from across the street, the people who lived there, were grinding down their pile of scrap wood into woodchips, and had taken mine as well, and converted them into woodchips also.
      

Dismayed, I went to them and told them that they had taken what was mine, and that I wanted to be compensated somehow for it, because it was all I had to survive on.
      

They laughed at me, and made fun of me, yet did finally agree to compensate me.
      

They left a pile of money near me, as if it was to be mine, but they never came right out to give to me. I feared that if I took it, they would accuse me of stealing, and have me arrested, so I kept bugging them, till they responded to me. I heard them say the number 62, and seen them give me sixty two cents into my hand.
      

“Couldn’t you at least make it two dollars?” I asked them. “It’s all I have to survive on.”
     

 They laughed even harder at me, till their oldest son came out to see what all the commotion was about. When he seen me, and heard what had happened, he rebuked his parents, went into the till, took out sixty two dollars, stuffed them into his pocket, and took my hand.
     

 “Come on,” he said, still full of disgust for his family and what they had tried to do to me, “I’ll make sure you get what you deserve.”
      

They then poked fun at their son, asking him why he cared about me. “She’s a nobody! Why bother with her? She’s just a waste of time!”
      

Even his so-called friends couldn’t understand why he cared. “We know you’re not the caring type, Derrick! All you care about, is getting into the pants of the pretty and popular girls!”
      

“That’s not true!” I said to them in his defense. “He only acts that way, cause it’s expected of him! He doesn’t get into it like you think he does!”
      

“Oh, he gets into something all right, eh Derrick?” they snickered.
      

No matter what other’s said about him, I knew differently. Oh yes, I had watched him for years, and I knew that he would do what they said he did. But when I looked into his eyes, I didn’t see happiness or contentment in them, I seen regret and even sadness in them instead.
      

You see, I had long ago, fallen in love with him, for my God Jesus, revealed his heart to me, and let me know that there was someone good and wonderful, underneath it all.
      

Well, anyways, as he went about, buying me the things I’d need with the sixty two dollars, he grilled me about my beliefs in him.
      

More and more, he became enthralled by me and my seemingly odd beliefs about him. Less and less, he would revert to his old self, and more and more he would live up to the faith I had in him, till one day his parents told him that they should ‘adopt’ me legally, for then it would make things easier for him to be seen with me.
      

He told me, that my life would be much easier, if I would just renounce my God Jesus, and believe what everyone else believed.
       

But I told him, “How can I renounce the one who showed me how beautiful you really are inside?”
      

He then seemed to understand and accept my belief in my God.
      

He then asked me if I wanted his parents to officially adopt me.
 

I told him that I would love to be a part of his family, but that I’d rather not be adopted, because that would mean I would become just a sister to him, and that my feelings for him, went much deeper than that.
      

So in the end, we got married, and lived happily with each other.

 

 I then woke up.

6 comments on “Because It’s Expected Of Him

  1. It is indeed a story worth telling and will be in a novel I plan to write. His beautiful heart was so hidden from everyone, by the superficial reputation he had acquired. He became a friend of mine, yet only after many years of me only seeing what everyone else saw. Then after a year of being friends God revealed his heart to me, and told me he was the one chosen for me.

    These parts from your dream I could put in my story too…

    “I’ll make sure you get what you deserve.”
    They then poked fun at their son, asking him why he cared about me. “She’s a nobody! Why bother with her? She’s just a waste of time!”
    Even his so-called friends couldn’t understand why he cared. “We know you’re not the caring type! All you care about, is getting into the pants of the pretty and popular girls!”
    “That’s not true!” I said to them in his defense. “He only acts that way, cause it’s expected of him! He doesn’t get into it like you think he does!”
    “Oh, he gets into something all right, eh?” they snickered.
    No matter what other’s said about him, I knew differently. Oh yes, I had watched him for years, and I knew that he would do what they said he did. But when I looked into his eyes, I didn’t see happiness or contentment in them, I saw regret and even sadness in them instead.
    You see, I had, fallen in love with him, for my God Jesus, revealed his heart to me, and let me know that there was someone good and wonderful, underneath it all.
    He grilled me about my beliefs in him. More and more, he became enthralled by me and my seemingly odd beliefs about him. Less and less, he would revert to his old self, and more and more he would live up to the faith I had in him.
    He told me, that my life would be much easier, if I would renounce my God Jesus, and believe what everyone else believed.
    But I told him, “How can I renounce the one who showed me how beautiful you really are inside?”
    He then seemed to understand and accept my belief in my God.
    So in the end, we got married, and lived happily with each other.”

    It was like reading my own story….Did you make it up or is some of it true for you too?

    • This was a dream I had on Jan. 2ond, 2006

      The night I had the dream, I had watched a TV show that featured a guy who was always after the pretty, popular girls, and would go out with them and try to make out with them, (and go however far they would let him,) until he tired of them and went on to the next one.

      After watching this show, I came before my Lord in prayer, as I was getting ready for bed, and talked to Him about it. I wondered how any woman could ever feel secure with such a guy for very long, and figured that marriage was probably out of the question for such a man. I wondered if guys like that ever got tired of the games they played with women, and wanted to settle down. I then felt sorry for such guys, for they would probably never know the honest true love that came with being married to a true follower of Christ. Personally, I could think of no believer that I had ever known, who would ever marry a man with such a horrid reputation!

      But that night in the dream, the Lord showed me otherwise. 🙂

      That’s what these ‘Faith In Action’ postings are; dreams that the Lord has given me, about other individual believers and what goes on in their lives. The Holy Spirit let me know that many of them are of actual believers in the future, and shows how they will serve the God above all gods during these coming end times.

      I did wonder after having this dream, if the guy ever ended up becoming a believer or not. The dream left that kind of hazy…

      It is interesting for me to discover that parts of this dream has actually come true for a real believer out there…(meaning you!)

      Thank you very much for sharing it here with others!

  2. The Lord has shown me that it a true believer looks nothing like the ones the world has come to stereotype. It will be a huge shock to many who have actually been serving the counterfeit ‘God’, pretending to be the Christian God that the Church holds high, so He can claim the praise he wanted to steal from The One True God all along.

    Well my Husband is a believer, but his faith is like none I’ve ever seen. He cries openly when reading the Bible to our children (So it is very rare that he reads aloud) He lives each day with humility and brutal honesty and cares little of what others think of him, in fact the less they think the more comfortable he seems. His prayers are so powerful he shies from the the recognition that goes hand in hand with them, like he doesn’t feel worthy of asking for anything. He loves others in a helpful and unexpecting way, yet has a difficult time exposing his heart with them. I am lucky to have had a rare glimpse. It took him a long time for him to believe that I love him and would never stop loving him. I still want to show him that I do everyday.

    Amazing that you had this dream and wrote it in this blog and that I would read it and tell you its truth! God is so HUGE!

  3. So true!

    It’s neat that he became a believer; I had wondered how one could not, being paired with such a strong believer!

    It sounds like he may have a strong ‘gift of spiritual discernment’ when it comes to God’s Word. When he reads it out loud, the Holy Spirit must be revealing to him the incredible power vibrating outwards through His spoken Word!

    I agree with you about the common counterfeit god that is out there in mainstream Christianity. Most don’t realize all the false gods and vain rituals that exist underneath their steeples…

    Your husband finding you is an answered prayer. (It shows there is hope for even the very lost!) You sharing it here with me, is another. Thank you for being so obedient to Him!

Leave a Reply

