The Football Field

(Continued from https://dreamsofdunamis.wordpress.com/2016/11/04/still-here/)

The dream begins with me running on a football field, holding a football. This in itself, surprised me, for I detest football. It was not something I would do, yet there I was, running with the ball. I had a general idea of where the end goal posts were, and I knew I was running in the right direction.

There was no one else on the field that I could see; no one from my team, and no one from the opposing team.

It was in the dead of night, extremely cold, and it was snowing so bad that at times you couldn’t see more than a foot ahead. The wind howled and blew in gusts, swirling about, making mesmerizing patterns in the air. The playing field still had the big lights on, but they seemed to struggle to cut through all the swirling depths of snow.

I suddenly realized, that I did not have to do what I was doing, so I stopped.

I looked up into the bleachers, and could see about a dozen or so people out there. I sensed there were a few more in the bleachers that were out of my line of sight, but that the rest of the fans had given up supporting the game and had gone home because of the severe weather.

I felt very cold and very alone.

Then as I looked towards the other side of the field, I saw a bus depot. I starred at it. Every now and then I could feel the warmth from its doors gust out towards my face. It looked warm and bright, cheery and good.

So I dropped the ball where I stood, and went into the bus depot.

The warmth there felt wonderful!

I sat there on one of their benches, and watched as loads of people would arrive in a bus, and then transfer themselves onto another bus that would take them on to heaven.

Oh the stories they shared were amazing! They all talked among themselves, explaining from where they had come and how they had got there. The bus driver always interacted with them, and seemed to be very happy with what he heard. There were smiles and oohs and ahs, as the people shared their stories. I listened with rapt attention, whenever a bus rolled in.

As I sat there on the bench and waited for my turn to get on the bus, I faced the football field. The door was as big as a single garage door, and was made of metal. For what seemed like ages, the door remained steadfastly open. But then one day I noticed that the door was slowly closing.

The scene upon the field never changed; every once and a while I’d feel a gust of that frigid cold weather upon my face and shiver. I’d look out into the darkness, but I could not see anyone else out there.

One day I noticed that the door had only a foot or so left to go before being fully closed. But I didn’t care. I had long ago decided never to go back out into that mess again. I had no doubt that where I was, was the best place to be.

A while later, (which seemed like many days without end,) the door finally clicked shut.

The days then seemed to extend on forever, me watching those happy revelers climb onto the bus bound for heaven, and wondering when It would be my turn to get on.

Finally, when I was beginning to wonder if it would ever be my turn, they called my name.

I walked up into the bus, expecting to be able to share my story with everyone else on the bus, but there was only one other person on that bus besides me and the bus driver, and she sat huddled down in the very back, and was unwilling to talk to me. The bus driver also refused to talk with me; he couldn’t even bring himself to look at me.

Then I realized with a pang, that he was ASHAMED of me!

As the bus began to depart from the depot, I woke up.
*

1 Corinthians 9:24-27 ESV “Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.”

Isaiah 40:31 ESV “But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.”

Matthew 24:13 ESV “But the one who endures to the end will be saved.”
TO BE CONTINUED…

2 comments on “The Football Field

  1. Wow that really talks, such a profound meaningful word with potency. thank you Sister.
    I do like to occasionally come review what is up with your Life events…I am glad that you are staying on air “so to speak”…much has taken my time this year including such growth in visions as I entered intercession for the election….As a joint heir in Heaven because OF Jesus I speak health to you in Jesus Name ….restoring immune balance and removing Inflammation and neuralgia if that is there….often seems the package is not just one item….I don’t often get revs for others ,but that is where I need to grow…I love you In Jesus Christ ….Live peaceful…

    • Hi Rock,

      Thank you very much for your prayers! Please pray for my vision to return to normal soon…

      May the Lord Jesus Christ bless you greatly, and cover you with His blood,
      C. Dunamis

Leave a Reply

