A Miracle: My Children Were Fed

When I was a young mother, I suffered from horrible migraines. They left me dizzy, sick to the stomach, and unable to see. I had applied to the government for disability, but they denied me. I worried about how I would care for my children when one of them would strike me.

Then one day, one of them hit me hard. I wasn’t able to balance myself enough to move, and I was unable to see. I lay on the floor of my bedroom, not knowing what to do.

I cried out to my God for help.

I stayed there praying for about an hour.

Then my oldest boy came upstairs to see me. He was about five years old.

I told him that I knew how hungry he must be, and to be patient; at some point I should be able to go back down stairs to feed everyone.

He told me not to worry, and that he went ahead and fed everyone.

I was dumbfounded.

“With what?” I asked him. I thought maybe he had given everyone some cereal or crackers, though I balked at the thought of him climbing up that high without supervision to get them. They were stored in the upper cabinets far out of their reach.

But what he did give them astounded me even further.

“Oh,” he said, as if it was no big deal, ”I made them pizza.”

“What?! How did they manage to eat it frozen?” (My mind was still trying to wrap around the thought that my son was able to dig through the big flat freezer to find one, much less that he would think to try and eat it.)

“I put it in the oven just like you do, and cooked it for them.”

“But how? You don’t know how to work the oven yet!”

“Yes I do. I watched how you did it, and I did what you did.”

I was floored.

“Is there any left?”

“No,” he said. “We ate it all.”

He must have cooked it well if everyone ate it.

Then I realized; God had answered my prayer in a way I had never anticipated.

This was the child that had a disability; he had been diagnosed with severe Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder and Oppositional Defiance Disorder, as well as some learning disorders. In my son’s case, these were fancy names for some nasty demons, though I did not come to this realization for some years yet. But for this child to behave as he did, was a miracle in itself. He was the one I would worry over; his impulsivity had gotten him into trouble many times before. For him to behave so responsibly and helpful, was quite unexpected. He had even managed to turn the oven off when he was done cooking the pizza!

After this incident, I no longer wondered if I should give up my children to Child Protective Services. God was telling me to keep them, and I knew then that He would indeed provide the way for us.

In the end, He did even better than that; he removed the migraines from me!

During Hanukkah, we recall the miracles that Christ has done in our lives. This was one of them.

May the Lord Jesus Christ bless you greatly and give you His peace!

C. Dunamis

One comment on “A Miracle: My Children Were Fed

Leave a Reply

