The Reasoning of the Chosen

A dream…

Suddenly, it was time.
People gathered in large numbers, milling around,
All waiting to see if their name would be called next.
Then they would be ushered into the dining room to eat.
All waited expectantly, wondering.
Names were called; big important names.
And one by one, these VIP’s were ushered in,
Where a wingless angel stood nearby
Taking their order for pizza,
And placing each person around the tables,
Each thinking it was according to their rank.
The others outside, still waiting,
Could see all that went on inside,
(Despite the huge crowds.)
Each name that was called, they would justify.
Yes, we can understand why he was chosen,
For he was the owner of that company.
And that guy over there, hey, wasn’t he the town mayor?
Then my old pastor’s name was called.
I watched as he entered and took his place,
(He was in line not far from me.)
He went in, placed his order, and ate beside the others.
A few other people were called and seated,
Then my name was called.
Whispers of shock reverberated around the tables,
Why her? Who was she? She was a nobody!
Why is she joining us here at our table?
They could not understand the reasoning of the chosen,
Nor could I. For yes, they were right, I was no one.
I placed no order, but received a pizza just the same.
It was a large green-peppered pizza, with pepperoni.
I eyed it, mouth watering, yet hesitating.
(I liked pepperoni and green peppers, but could not eat them while on earth.)
But somehow I knew, that this time it was O.K. for me to eat it,
And that I would not get sick from them.
So I ate small bites, marveling at how good it tasted, how perfect.
And each time I took out a bite, it was somehow replaced,
Leaving me with a whole pizza again.
My old pastor and I, we looked at each other and smiled.
But the others around us, continued to argue among themselves,
Trying to figure out why someone as lowly and unimportant like me,
Would be seated next to them.
Some made sense to them, like why the VIP’s were there.
But no one could figure out why little nobodies like me were among them.
We all looked around the room, searching, wondering, and eating.
Then in a flash, I knew. Everyone at our table, had one thing in common.
We had listened to my old pastor’s sermons, and had brought them into our heart.
That was the link among us; every single one.
We were all there, deemed important, not because of title or position,
But because we took this old pastor’s shared words of Jesus,
And allowed them to live within us.

I woke up then, and the song “The Invitation” by Steven Curtis Chapman,
Was playing in the back of my mind.

(To listen to the same song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hA7q0jA9VtE )

*
Matthew 22:1-14, KJV. “And Jesus answered and spake unto them again by parables, and said, The kingdom of heaven is like unto a certain king, which made a marriage for his son, And sent forth his servants to call them that were bidden to the wedding: and they would not come. Again, he sent forth other servants, saying, Tell them which are bidden, Behold, I have prepared my dinner: my oxen and my fatlings are killed, and all things are ready: come unto the marriage. But they made light of it, and went their ways, one to his farm, another to his merchandise: And the remnant took his servants, and entreated them spitefully, and slew them. But when the king heard thereof, he was wroth: and he sent forth his armies, and destroyed those murderers, and burned up their city. Then saith he to his servants, The wedding is ready, but they which were bidden were not worthy. Go ye therefore into the highways, and as many as ye shall find, bid to the marriage. So those servants went out into the highways, and gathered together all as many as they found, both bad and good: and the wedding was furnished with guests. And when the king came in to see the guests, he saw there a man which had not on a wedding garment: And he saith unto him, Friend, how camest thou in hither not having a wedding garment? And he was speechless. Then said the king to the servants, Bind him hand and foot, and take him away, and cast him into outer darkness, there shall be weeping and gnashing of teeth. For many are called, but few are chosen.”

*

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.