Her Imaginary Friend

My kids were in one of their classes at college, where each student had to get up in front of the class, and share with everyone, something that had happened to them in the past, that had completely changed their life.

Well, one of their classmates got up and began to share how her life had changed, when she had first met her imaginary friend in a dream.

This was a girl that both of my kids had seen before, and had felt decidedly uncomfortable around. When one of my kids had first met this girl, he had smiled at her and said “hi,” but the girl had looked right through him and then coldly ignored him. My kid thought she was just being shy, but now began to realize differently. This girl’s imaginary friend, was a demon, and this demon was jealously protecting its host from interacting with any believer.

The girl showed paintings that she had done of her imaginary friend to the classroom, and explained the imaginary world that her imaginary friend lived in. It was all quite detailed and colorful. She was a good artist.

As the girl began to describe her imaginary friend, the demon stood right there next to her.

The girl began to describe in great detail, what her imaginary friend looked like. “He has light blue skin, a pert pigs nose, and has one of its eyes missing. He is…”

At this, the girl paused, searching for words. One of my kids spoke up under his breath, and said “he’s tall!”

And even though there was no way that the girl could have heard him say this, (he was at the back of the room and she at the front,) she said “oh yes! And he’s very tall, standing about ten feet high.”

My son gave a slight nod of agreement.

The girl then said that this imaginary friend changed her life, when she accepted him as a friend, despite his disabilities. She claimed that this imaginary friend taught her not to judge others harshly, but to be accepting of everyone, no matter what their disability.

(Though evidently not so accepting of EVERYONE, given her treatment of my son earlier.)

As this girl went into details of her imaginary friend, the demon stood next to her and ran his own verbal commentary to her words describing him. The demon was full of sarcasm, and laughed at the girl’s duplicity.

The demon was very prideful at how this girl was describing him. When the girl said her friend had dark eyes that held the spark of life in them, the demon laughed mockingly, and said that his eyes actually had the spark of death in them, but that he kept this truth from her.

When the girl described how she was freed from prejudice when she was finally able to accept him with his one eye, the demon said this was when she had accepted HIM into HER life. When this happened, the demon then had a legal right to be in her life. It was clear from this girl’s presentation, that she wanted to keep him in her life, and was not willing to give him up for anything. It had become her very best friend.

It was clear that the demon always held back what he really looked like to the girl, and once again, the demon took great pride in this deception. In reality, this demon was much more like a monster, than a human. Had the girl really been able to see him as he was, my kids doubted she would be so accepting of it.

One of my kids tried to bind it up in the name of Jesus, but all this did, was stop the demon from looking at my kids. The demon simply re-directed its focus towards all the other students sitting there in the classroom.

Finally the girl ended her presentation, and returned to her seat. As she walked by one of my kids, my child pulled in his chair, to make room for the demon to get by him without touching. (The demon was far wider and bigger than the girl.) Then he realized too late, that he didn’t need to do such a thing. (I think he felt a little silly, making room for a spirit that no one else could see.)

My kids felt relieved when the class was over, and they could escape from that snide demon.

*

This has certainly put the topic of ‘imaginary friends’ into a new light for me. I used to think that they were just a harmless coping mechanism for children who for some reason can not handle real life at a specific time in their life. Now I am not so sure. Perhaps some are. But evidently, some are not.

I found it interesting, that the demon used the ‘ prejudice ‘ issue, to force his entry into her life. Even the Most High God does not condone prejudice. Prejudice is a demon that comes from hell, and is closely allied with the demon of hate. But here, satan used something seemingly good and worthy, (not being prejudice,) and twisted it into his own tool of ultimate deception and death.

*

Psalms 91:11
For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.

1 John 4:1-3 ESV

Beloved, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, for many false prophets have gone out into the world. By this you know the Spirit of God: every spirit that confesses that Jesus Christ has come in the flesh is from God, and every spirit that does not confess Jesus is not from God. This is the spirit of the antichrist, which you heard was coming and now is in the world already.

Romans 8:5-8 ESV

For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the Spirit. For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace. For the mind that is set on the flesh is hostile to God, for it does not submit to God’s law; indeed, it cannot. Those who are in the flesh cannot please God.

Ephesians 6:10-18 ESV

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm. Stand therefore, having fastened on the belt of truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness,

Matthew 12:43-45 ESV

“When the unclean spirit has gone out of a person, it passes through waterless places seeking rest, but finds none. Then it says, ‘I will return to my house from which I came.’ And when it comes, it finds the house empty, swept, and put in order. Then it goes and brings with it seven other spirits more evil than itself, and they enter and dwell there, and the last state of that person is worse than the first. So also will it be with this evil generation.”

* * * *

12 comments on “Her Imaginary Friend

  1. Sometimes a demon can enter into someone during a traumatic experience. If someone is in agreement with their demon, you can’t cast it out.

    • Very true, Tim. Sadly, my boys sensed that this is indeed what happened to this girl.

      Most demon spirit removal that is shown in the Bible, is of demons being removed from the person by their or their family’s request.

      I have wondered about the girl that Paul, in Acts 16:16-18, removed a demon from. All I can think of, is that she actually didn’t like having the fortune-telling demon in her, so Paul was able to remove it from her. What is your take on it?

      Acts 16:16-18 ESV
      As we were going to the place of prayer, we were met by a slave girl who had a spirit of divination and brought her owners much gain by fortune-telling. She followed Paul and us, crying out, “These men are servants of the Most High God, who proclaim to you the way of salvation.” And this she kept doing for many days. Paul, having become greatly annoyed, turned and said to the spirit, “I command you in the name of Jesus Christ to come out of her.” And it came out that very hour.

  2. I am guessing that Paul perceived in his spirit that it was the right time to cast the demon out of the slave girl.

    About the spirit of divination. I have met a few people who had the spirit of divination, and when I would listen to them speak, it would grieve my spirit—or maybe they were false Christians.

    Back in the summer of 2008, I was hitchhiking in Idaho and I got dropped off in Riggins. I walked along this river and found a place to camp out. I was walking by this vehicle and there was a man and his wife in it and I walked up to them and started talking with them.

    Then the wife said, “He is writing a book.”

    Immediately, I knew that she had a spirit of divination. We talked a little more and I walked on down the road and found a place to camp out. Well, she was right on target: later that year, my first book “High Plains Drifter” was published. When I met that woman, I was not planning on having my manuscript published (I love how the Lord will even use the devil to get our attention).

    The spirit of divination is of the devil, but it can speak some truth. It is like an unbeliever quoting Scripture: they are speaking the truth even though they are not in relationship with Jesus Christ.

    “Thus Saith the Lord?”

    Thus Saith the Lord?

    • Thank you Tim for responding back to my question; I knew I could count on you to find some good meat on the topic!

      I also thank you for the link to your post, as well as the links there in the comment section. Good food, good food…

  3. Hi Dunamis, it also reminds me of those popular tv talk shows where the guest would say to parents that the “visitor” that was coming to their child was not to be feared but was good, was a spirit guide, and other type things..which was total lies from hell of course. The verse..evil waxing worse..deceived and deceiving..these people on the talk shows would go around deceiving with/by the same deceptions they’d been ensnared or fallen too.
    Taking the word of God and prayer out of the schools really did a number on the country too..

    Praying for your and family’s joy and strength in the Lord

    • Hi Bread,

      Thanks for commenting, and especially for your prayers. I thank God for you, my first prayer support for the blog!

      Yes, I think we as a nation, are definitely beginning to see the ‘fruit’ of taking prayer out of the schools…

      May the Lord bless you always dear one,
      C. Dunamis

    • I personally do not believe that all imaginary friends are from satan.

      I can remember having an imaginary friend when I was very little. It never spoke to me with words. When I cried, it would come and simply hold me. Sometimes it even would rock me ever so slightly, back and forth. (Especially if I was crying very hard.) I always had a peaceful expression on its face, and it had the same color of hair that I had. It was about as tall as my earthly mother, but it had no breasts or hips. It always told me somehow, through the hugs, that I was still worthy of being loved by God. It would fill me with great peace. It usually came and comforted me after my parents would have one of their big knock-out fights, or after I got in the middle of it and got hit myself.

      At first, I had discounted the thought that it might have been an angel, because I never saw any wings on it. Now, I realize it could very well have been an angel sent to comfort me, for now I realize that not all angels must have wings that can be seen by human eyes.

      So, perhaps there are some ‘imaginary friends’ out there, that are really angels in disguise….

  4. One of my best friends confuses me because she has imaginary friends. I also had imaginary friends and I just recently left them because I wanted only Jesus to be not an imaginary friend but a real friend. Against my will I had to convince myself that my friends were actually demons even though they seemed to be good. I really loved them but I was willing to do this for Jesus. I still can’t understand, I just left them believing is the right thing, but they were only imaginary (only in my imagination and dreams). I could never see them or anything like that. Nonetheless, my friend also has imaginary friends and she can feel them and really see them. All her imaginary friends have stories and they reveal the story of their lives, but that’s very confusing to me. She also says that they can die (but they don’t even have bodies… how can they?) and they treat her well. Some of them do not deny God’s existence but I asked my friend to ask them if they love God, but they answer that they are confused about their beliefs.
    I have been confused about this for a long time, but as I don’t have answers I simply believe they are demons and are just really good actors. My friend is catholic and says she believes in God, but she is very confused about her imaginary friends, she doesn’t know what to believe about them. Every time she is confused, they convince her somehow that they’re good, but I don’t have foundations to explain this since I don’t know much about the spiritual realm. I still believe they are demons, but I don’t know why I still feel confused, I don’t even know what I’m confused about. Maybe my question would be… are there other beings other than demons in the spiritual realm or they are all 100% demons? They say they can reproduce in that realm.

    What do you say? Are they inventing that just to get us confused?

    • Hi Eva,

      If your friend wants to know if these imaginary friends are truly good, (meaning that they are of Jesus,) have her ask them to repeat after her these words: “Jesus Christ has come in the flesh.” (1 John 4:2) If these imaginary friends pause, or try to change the topic, then you know that they are from the evil one and not from God.

      If they are from the evil one, you need to cast them out in the name of Jesus. Tell them that you no longer want them there, so they must leave. Then cast them out.

      May God’s Blessings be upon you,
      C. Dunamis

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.