About The Use Of Bad Language

ABOUT CUSSING AND USING BAD LANGUAGE

One of my younger boys, was wondering about the use of bad language. He knew that using obvious cussing words was bad, yet some of his friends would use cuss words in a positive way, and this confused him. For example, one of his friends had told him that something my son had worked hard to achieve, was “kick a-s.” (Which was the equivalent of saying “kick donkey”.) When his friend said this, my son still felt a twinge of sadness in his heart over the use of that other word that meant a donkey, and yet he wasn’t sure if he should ask his friend to abstain from saying that word or not. When he looked up the word on line, in reference to the bible, he was told that it was actually in God’s Word, and to his mind, this meant that it must be o.k.. But it still didn’t feel right in his spirit, so this confused him more.

He would note, that hearing such cuss words on the television, was not as painful as when someone he cared about used them. This also confused him. Why would there be a difference?

He went on line again, to see what other believers had to say on this matter. He found that there were three man points that people made on the topic. One, was that we are not to say any of these words, no matter what. The second one, was two questions. Would you say it in front of God? And what if you say these words without their evil intent like a_s for donkey? And the third belief, claimed that as long as you don’t use God’s name in vain, you’re good.

My son asked the Lord Jesus many times, which ones of these, if any, were right or not. And he received no answer.

Till one day, while in prayer to Him, my son brought it up to Him yet again. And this time, the Lord answered him.

First, the Lord asked my son why he wanted to know.

“So I can share the real truth with others,” he answered, “and even preach these truths to my children some day.”

So the Lord told him, “begin speaking through your own (caring) heart, and pretend you are preaching to your children on this matter.”

Which my son then did.

He explained again the questions, and when it came to the part for the answers, my son found that the truth just fell from his lips as if something besides him was controlling him. He listened to himself speak, astounded.

Half way through he stopped, and simply began conversing with the Lord. It excited him greatly, to hear such direct answers!

God told him, “Do not let any evil out of your mouth. Your words are very powerful. They are so powerful, that they can control the demons. When you cast out a demon with My Word, like a blaster of pure energy, you are pushing the demon away. You can even ask your guardian angel to move to protect you; this gives your guardian angel more power to work on your behalf.

Your words can also be very weak. When you say words in an evil way, you are saying weak words, as far as the Spirit and the Kingdom is concerned. When you cuss or say these cuss-like words, the demons will hear. When people use a certain word as a swear word, over and over again, that word becomes known as a cuss word, or what is known in this age as a swear word. Demons memorize these words, (some are even their names,) for these words call them to the person who is speaking them. (This is why it is less painful to hear them over the television set, than when a friend says them.) When one cusses, they are sinning and calling that demon into them. Then once inside of you, demons can easily influence you to sin more. The swearing gives the demon a doorway to hit you with more sin, so then it can eventually take you. If you say such a word in a non-evil/not with evil intent, through you are not cursing, the demons will still listen and come, but they can not enter into you. No doorway or opening was made, so they do not have a free way to attack you.

Trust My Spirit within you. If My Holy Spirit in you thinks that the word is a swear word, then My Spirit will warn you to not say it or to listen to it. If you keep saying it in a way that is o.k., your spirit still hears it and still warns you. (And you might want to cast out the demon you just called to your side.) If you keep doing it, you will get numb to the sensitivity of saying the swear word itself, with evil intent or not. And the demons, they listen to these words, so that they will come to you with the intent that you are going to sin. (Just the words said without any evil intent. So it is good to cast them out, just in case.)

Swearing demons often work with the demons of addiction.
Swearing itself, can even be its own addiction.

The reason you should not say these words, if you curse, not only is it a sin, but you are calling a demon to come to you. If you said a non swear word just like it was a curse, though you are sinning, you are not calling a demon.

If you keep using the words as non-swearing, though the demons will come, they will be bored. They will start to leave you alone cause they realize you are not sinning. You are a waste of their time.

If enough people do that with a particular word, it will no longer be considered a swear word. And the demons will not listen to those words any longer.”

My son told me, that he referenced the Bible, just to make sure that what he had heard was really true, and found that it matched in places, and in others, it did not refute it, but was silent on it. (For example, the bible does not say that demons can enter into you when you swear. Yet it doesn’t say that they do not either. And this child has seen demons enter into those who cuss.)

Personally, I can testify that when I was in my twenties, I had a problem with cussing. At first, I had thought that it made me sound ‘cool’ and ‘in with the in crowd’, but after I was married, both my husband and I decided that we would refrain from cussing. My husband was able to stop without a problem. But I could not seem to stop! So finally, I went to the Lord and asked Him to please help me break the habit. He told me that whenever I found that I had said a cuss word, I was to immediately stop, and no matter where I was or who I was with, say out loud, “I am sorry Jesus. Please forgive me!” Well, after the third time saying this out loud, I found that the habit (or addiction,) of cussing, was broken. Hallelujah!

*

Matthew 12:36-37 ESV I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak, for by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.”

Matthew 5:22 ESV But I say to you that everyone who is angry with his brother will be liable to judgment; whoever insults his brother will be liable to the council; and whoever says, ‘You fool!’ will be liable to the hell of fire.

Exodus 20:7 KJV – Thou shalt not take the name of the LORD thy God in vain; for the LORD will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain.

Matthew 15:10-11 ESV And he called the people to him and said to them, “Hear and understand: it is not what goes into the mouth that defiles a person, but what comes out of the mouth; this defiles a person.”

Ephesians 4:29 – Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.

Ephesians 5:4 ESV Let there be no filthiness nor foolish talk nor crude joking, which are out of place, but instead let there be thanksgiving.

1 Thessalonians 5:22 – Abstain from all appearance of evil.

Proverbs 4:24 ESV Put away from you crooked speech, and put devious talk far from you.

Proverbs 21:23 ESV Whoever keeps his mouth and his tongue keeps himself out of trouble.

Psalm 19:14 ESV Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.

2 Timothy 2:16 ESV But avoid irreverent babble, for it will lead people into more and more ungodliness

James 4:7 – Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

James 3:13 – Who [is] a wise man and endued with knowledge among you? let him shew out of a good conversation his works with meekness of wisdom

Colossians 3:8 ESV But now you must put them all away: anger, wrath, malice, slander, and obscene talk from your mouth.

Colossians 3:23 – And whatsoever ye do, do [it] heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men;

1 Corinthians 3:16 – Know ye not that ye are the temple of God, and [that] the Spirit of God dwelleth in you?

Jeremiah 23:10 – For the land is full of adulterers; for because of swearing the land mourneth; the pleasant places of the wilderness are dried up, and their course is evil, and their force [is] not right.

Proverbs 8:13 ESV The fear of the Lord is hatred of evil. Pride and arrogance and the way of evil and perverted speech I hate.

Proverbs 4:24 ESV Put away from you crooked speech, and put devious talk far from you.

Psalm 141:3 ESV Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips!

Romans 12:2 ESV Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

18 comments on “About The Use Of Bad Language

  1. Hi Dunamis, good article and coupled with your testimony about wanting to be with the “in” crowd so time ago we can also see peter denying the Lord before those people to the point he cussed=to seem or be “like them” and not of Jesus, to be as the world. He did it for fear but he knew the effect of cussing was to seem worldly, of the world. So cussing is from fear, anger, wishing to be with the “in” crowd, like the world..oh well cussing is no good huh, even the word a-s..why? why do it, to be “like the world”? We can examine our motives/hearts deeply and see what’s up.

  2. Really good article! I have trouble with how to approach this matter to christians who use bad language, especially when they don’t think demons exist. It saddens my heart to know that so many christians “go with the flow” of the world without knowing of the spiritual world.

    • Hi Mysterytopursue,
      Yes indeed! And it is hard to watch them struggle in their lives, not realizing that they themselves might have opened the doorway for demons to attack them…

      • Very true. I wonder what you think of changing a symbol or complementing it with something in order for it to become “christian”. For example, “the walking with Jesus” instead of “the walking dead” t-shirt, or the symbol of the rolling stones (mouth and tongue) with a verse on the bottom saying that every tongue will confess that Jesus is Lord, etc.
        I’ve seen christians wearing these things and see that it’s a mix of good and evil, things that do not mix together. But on asking them about the shirts they said non-christians come to them and ask them about it and it’s a good way to share the gospel.

        • In the cases where the symbol represented evil, I find myself unable to think of it positively, even if the actual message had been changed to support Christianity. If the symbol had never represented evil, then I find them interesting and sometimes engaging. For example, one of my favorite T-shirts says:

          PRAYER
          WORLD’S GREATEST WIRELESS CONNECTION

          I didn’t associate a wireless connection with good or evil. But now that I have the T-shirt, whenever I hear the phrase “wireless connection”, I always think of my God and smile…

    • Hi Kingintraining

      Good to hear from you!

      Yes, it must be a big one. None of us have seen that demon yet, for we tend to stay clear of those who would be so disrespectful towards our God…

      Shalom and all blessings to you dear sis,
      C. Dunamis

  3. This reminds me of getting kicked off a “christian” guitar forum. A number of them used the F bomb frequently and even the moderator supported the notion that it wasn’t a sin. Funny that they found it acceptable even though, for the most part, it’s unacceptable in the world.

    • Wow…I would have thought that a Christian leader would know that using such vulgar and unclean language is not Christ-like.

      “Christian is, as Christian does”, as a good friend of mine always says…

      I hope you didn’t feel bad after getting kicked out of that guitar forum. It sounds like you’re in better company without them!

  4. Thank you for this wonderful post. I have learnt a lot from you and it is an absolute blessing to have the chance to read your posts once in a while.

    “Death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.” Proverbs 18:21

    Now I know I should beware of speaking negative curses and words nor thoughts. Only speak positive words and have positive thoughts for it is good! 🙂

    Your post have greatly encouraged me and an inspiration for me to write a post about it so people could know that words are indeed powerful.

    God bless you! Love you 😀

    • Hello Bride of Yahushua,

      Thank you very much for your encouragement and fellowship! If you were before me right now, I’d give you a big hug. 🙂

      As for the power of words, just in case you missed it, there is a post entitled ‘The Jinx Demon’:

      Beware Of The Jinx Demon


      This illumination changed my life. I realized just how much I was cursing my own life without even realizing it!

      By the way, I love that song you have on your web site; the one by Odetta, entitled “This Little Light Of Mine”. I’m glad you kept her introduction to the song on the music clip, for the gay rights movement has hijacked that song for their own purposes. Your clip lets others know that Christians were enjoying it long before then…

      Love you too dear sister,
      C. Dunamis

      • I enjoyed much reading your posts! Your site is very interesting and I have learnt a lot from you. It was a blessing.

        I would want to hug you too 🙂 but I know we can when we are up there. I literally can’t wait! I am super excited for the LORD’s return.

        I did not missed your post about the Jinx Demon. I was so surprised and what an eye opener to me. I love your post, really well written. I now am so careful to speak cursing. We should only have positive thoughts and actions. I tried convicting my loved one to stop cursing themselves especially, but they still do it…I am continuously praying for her spiritual blindness be removed. So she can have true spiritual eyes to see the truth, and so as ears to hear that she would actually understand.

        I love the song by Odetta as well, I listened many times and I still love it. I am planning to write a post soon inspired by this wonderful woman. It really relate to my circumstance of witnessing to the lost and towards spiritual warfare. It is not the darkness we should fear, but the light within us should we fear – for GOD is within us and HE IS THE LIGHT! 😉

        I did not know there was a gay rights movement with this. Quite interesting to know. But when I watch the video, it does not signify to me anything of the gays. I just know it was about GOD.

        Love you my dear brother

  5. This is great! I was told 2 years ago that demons are attached to our cuss words! Thank you for sharing this! Thank you Jesus! This is life changing!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.